College Scholarship Program

Jerry Middlemiss and Stephanie Magnone Scholarship Awards

LBL was founded in 1993 to promote the sport of Lacrosse in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The organization is dedicated to introducing boys and girls to lacrosse and developing fundamental lacrosse skills in a positive team environment.

LBL emphasizes the development of lacrosse players reflecting the philosophies of teamwork, sportsmanship, respect, positive attitude and discipline.

Stephanie Magnone Award (girls program)

Named after LBL Girls Program founder Coach Stephanie Magnone. In addition to helping found LBL, Coach Magnone has been the long-time coach of the Villa Joseph Marie girls lacrosse team. Coach Magnone embodies the traits described in LBL’s mission, and this scholarship will be awarded to the female applicants who most exemplify these characteristics.

Jerry Middlemiss Award (boys program)

Named after Lower Bucks Lacrosse Club founder Coach Jerry Middlemiss. Coach Middlemiss, then the Head Coach at Trenton State College and coach of the Hopewell Lacrosse League, recognized the need for the development of a Yardley area club as the sport grew in popularity in the early 90s.

Program Information

There is one winner and one runner-up for each award:

  • $1,000 for each winner (one male and one female)
  • $500 for each runner-up (one male and one female)


  • Applicant must be a graduating high school senior in Spring 2023
  • Applicant must be planning to attend an accredited college or university in the Fall of 2023
  • Applicant must meet minimum GPA requirement of 2.8 (on a 4.0 scale)
  • Applicant must have played for at least one season with LBL
  • Applicant must submit 2-3 letters of recommendation for a complete application
  • Applicant must submit an essay (250-400 words) describing how they contributed to the lacrosse/LBL community while in high school. For example, assisting with TryLax, assisting/refereeing for recreational tournaments, or supporting lacrosse summer camps. Discuss how giving back to the lacrosse community helped shape your character.


Your compete application with references must be submitted by May 15, 2023.

How to Apply

Complete the online application and send letters of recommendation via email to


Scholarship candidates will be notified by email during the second full week in June.

Past Winners


  • Sophia Curtis
  • Maggie Golder


  • Maddie Spratt
  • Ellie McLaughlin
  • Lexi Synder


  • Ellie Vogel
  • Emelie Curtis
  • Ben Morschauser
  • Bryse Ranniello


  • Caitlin Doyle
  • Emma Garry
  • Andrew Arth


  • Ben Abraham
  • Lily Nolan
  • Annie Price
  • Maddie Seibel


  • Samantha DelViscio
  • Jenna Delzgalvis
  • Chloe Jones


  • Christine Carugati
  • Isabel Glace


  • Megan Kloss
  • Lydia Mahony
  • Keir Degnan
  • Fran Donato


  • Maddie Jones
  • Brooke Gallagher
  • Carson Smith


  • Jackie Sweeney
  • Morgan Smith
  • Kelsey Gumbert
  • Kevin Nowak
  • Tyler Byelecki
  • Justin Litus


  • Morgan Gallagher
  • Emily Bowers
  • Kevin Moses
  • Lewis Sears
  • Andrew Probst
  • Brett Incollingo
  • Jeremy Omrod


  • Katie Fields
  • Becca Radzinski
  • Jack Bogorowski
  • Dan Marr
  • Jimmy Roessner


  • Tori Smith
  • Jess Bulafka
  • Esther Bullard
  • Allison Borda
  • Shawn Caven
  • Kenneth Warren
  • Joe Borda
  • James Borda

Press Release from the First Award


YARDLEY, PA, MAY 31, 2010: Jack McDonald, President of Lower Bucks Lacrosse, announced today that the LBL Scholarship Committee has awarded the first annual Jerry Middlemiss and Stephanie Magnone Scholarship Awards to Shawn Caven and Tori Smith, respectively, both seniors at Pennsbury High School.

Shawn is the Co-Captain of 2010 Pennsbury Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team, a scholar / athlete with a 3.94 GPA, and National Honor Society Member. “He is an athletic and emotional team leader and communicator who honors the game with his respectful approach to coaches, teammates and opponents” said the LBL Scholarship Committee in their recommendation of Shawn.

Tori is the Co-Captain of 2010 Pennsbury Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team, was co-captain of the Junior Varsity Tennis Team, a scholar/athlete with a 4.62 weighted GPA, National Honor Society President, Spanish Language Student of the Year, and member of the Spanish National Honor Society. She is involved in Habitat for Humanity, camp counseling, and clean up efforts at local parks and recreational areas. “Tori is a high achiever not only in the classroom and on the athletic field, but also in the community. She underscores the values that are intrinsic to our program – achieving your personal best while leading by example.” according to the LBL Scholarship Committee.

Honorable mentions were awarded to: Kenneth Warren, Jessica Bulafka, and Ester Bullard, all of Pennsbury High School, and Joseph Borda, James Borda, and Allison Borda, all of Notre Dame HS in Lawrenceville, N. J.  The scholarships will be awarded in separate ceremonies on June 9th (girls) and June 11th(boys), at each program’s end-of-season celebration at Middletown Community Park in Langhorne.

The Jerry Middlemiss Scholarship Award and the Stephanie Magnone Scholarship Awards, are named in honor of the founders of the Lower Bucks Boys and Girls Lacrosse programs, respectively, coaches who set high standards of excellence both on the field, and in life.  “At Lower Bucks Lacrosse, our goal is to develop young people who are winners both in lacrosse, and in life; we were thrilled to realize that every one of our scholarship candidates for these scholarships met both of these criteria. Shawn and Tori represent the very best of young people today; we hope in some small way their years with Lower Bucks Lacrosse contributed to their success. We wish them the best of luck at college and beyond.”